Classics Club: Group check in #1

I am now going to give myself a Psychic Reading (READING! get it?!?!) Um, yeah, anyway:

Past: I joined in August, and I have so far completed two of my 50 selections. The Importance of Being Earnest by Wilde, which is very slim, and Babel Tower by Byatt ,which is over 600 pages! I also have changed a number of my original selections, and I expect more changes as some of the books The Classic Clubbers read become irresistible reading! Here is my list, including links to reviews and edits.

Present: I am currently (re re) reading Wuthering Heights from my list (along with Unputdownables! Were on week two). Delicious reading.

Future: There is a really neat discussion series at my local library called Coffee and Shakespeare. I’m going to attend this month (9/26/12). We are reading Henry IV pt 2 (I guess I missed pt 1 in August – drat!) which is now on my list. I might further edit the Shakespeare to reflect what’s being read in the discussion series (but no way, no how is Hamlet or Macbeth leaving!)!

I also signed up for Délaissé ‘s  Gothic Fiction in October. I’m reading Rebecca and Frankenstein from my list (plus Radcliffe’s The Mysteries of Udolpho and Tartt’s The Secret History which are not on my list, but fun, fun, fun!) I also want to sign up for Jillian’s Transcendental November and read Walden from my list.

I can vouch for the accuracy of the past and present readings, and I certainly hope my future holds true! I’m so excited for these upcoming reads!!

10 comments

  1. Jillian ♣

    I love the way you’ve constructed this check-in — past, present, future. 🙂 Also, YAY WALDEN! It’s one of my absolute favorites.

  2. Pingback: The Classics Club: Group Check-in #1 « A Room of One's Own
  3. joon*ann

    Jackie, when I first posted my club check-in I didn’t realize that you were the originator of the past, present, future template. I thought it was a suggested template from the club. I learned from Jillian’s post that it was your template and your idea too for doing a blog post for the check-in. So if you saw my post before I gave you due credit I’m sorry–I’ll be more careful next time.

  4. Pingback: September Check-In: The Classics Club | A Novel Attachment
  5. Fanda

    The psychic reading image is intriguing! 😉
    About Shakespeare, I can’t wait to read more from him next year. I have only read one so far. Just not used to read plays, but I’m going to put more effort for the bard.

Leave a comment