A Musing: A Cast-Off Coven

The second book in Juliet Blackwell’s Witchcraft Mystery series was just as enjoyable as the first. In a turn of events, I enjoyed this mystery even more than the characters this time around! I also loved the witchy elements — they were done well and carefully.

Maybe this will get the academics AND the pagans in a tizzy, but I’m finding much overlap in the New Materialist philosophies (especially the vitalist strain) that I study, and the Pagan worldview as exemplified in this book. The descriptions of the energy in vintage clothing is not far from the comments of the makers, collectors, and scholars of the Arts & Crafts objects I’ve been researching, too. As Mark Samuels Lasner, Morris scholar and collector extraordinaire commented,

I believe that objects are practically human, or animate anyway, and they have three tales to tell: the story of their creation, the story of what they mean in their own time, and then the story of what’s happened to them since.

See? 🙂

By the way, the entire Lasner interview is amazing. I want to be him when I grow up!

I sincerely hope that the other Witchcraft Mysteries find their way into my possession very soon! At the end of this book was a teaser for the third book, and I’m already hooked.

Leave a Reply

