Classics Club Spin #4, Donna Tartt Edition

1020-bks-BTB-articleInline

The Classics Club is doing another of my very favorite event: The Classics Spin!

Since I am deep into my re-read of Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch, I am going to choose four (get it, this is spin #4) books/authors that Tartt references in some way in The Goldfinch that also happen to be on my Classics Club list (fancy that!) and repeat them five times to get to the number 20.  Wonder what number Theo’s father would place his bet on? 😉

Without further ado:

1. Remembrance of Things Past: Swann’s Way – Proust

2. Great Expectations – Dickens

3. The Plague – Camus

4. The Idiot – Dostoyevsky

5. Remembrance of Things Past: Swann’s Way – Proust

6. Great Expectations – Dickens

7. The Plague – Camus

8. The Idiot – Dostoyevsky

9. Remembrance of Things Past: Swann’s Way – Proust

10. Great Expectations – Dickens

11. The Plague – Camus

12. The Idiot – Dostoyevsky

13. Remembrance of Things Past: Swann’s Way – Proust

14. Great Expectations – Dickens

15. The Plague – Camus

16. The Idiot – Dostoyevsky

17. Remembrance of Things Past: Swann’s Way – Proust

18. Great Expectations – Dickens

19. The Plague – Camus

20. The Idiot – Dostoyevsky

I can’t wait to see what my lucky number is on Monday!

(image: from the New York Times article on what Tartt loves to read. If you ever need inspiration for your reading list, Tartt has got you covered.)

15 comments

  1. Christy

    Great Expectations is on my Classics Spin as well – but not as many times! 😉 It will be my fourth Dickens. I’ve reportedly read his best already (Bleak House, Our Mutual Friend), but I don’t think I’ll be disappointed by Great Expectations. (Totally realized I was accidentally making a pun as I was writing the last part of the sentence.)

    • jackiemania

      I’m so very sending vibrations to getting The Idiot! It runs through The Goldfinch through my favorite character in the book — Boris. Even if I don’t get it, I’m sure to read it really, really soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

