A Musing: The Goldfinch

Last night, I finished reading The Goldfinch.

I paused, completely dazzled. I felt exactly like I did after riding the Storm Runner roller coaster at Hershey Park.

STORM RUNNER

This one-of-a-kind coaster will launch you from 0-72 mph in 2 seconds flat. 18 stories straight up, straight down. And that’s just the beginning. You’ll fly through a 135 foot cobra loop, barrel rolls, and a dramatic flying snake dive. The first hydraulic launch coaster to feature inversions.
Aggressive Thrill Ride Aggressive Thrill Ride – This is a high-speed experience. Riders will experience many unexpected, rapid changes in speed, direction, and/or elevation and requires rider full body control. This ride is not recommended for guests with physical, cognitive, and/or medical limitations.

 

After I rode The Storm Runner, I got right back in line and rode it again.

You know what that means. I opened this nearly 800 page puppy right back to page one. I’m reading The Goldfinch again. Right now. The moment after I finished it.

I’m  enthralled, high as a kite, extremely alive, a little sick, slightly dizzy, and very, very impressed with what human beings can create. I’ll write a musier musing after my second reading, but wow. Wow! Again, please!

One comment

  1. Fleur in her World

    Well, I couldn’t ask for a warmer recommendation than that! I’m trying to save my copy until my Christmas break from work when I’ll have more time to do it justice, but I am very, very tempted …

Leave a Reply

