Classics Spin Number Three!

I am uberdelighted that The Classics Club is doing a third Spin!

Because I am a loner and rebel a la Pee-wee Herman:

I am going to do things a little differently. There are five books on my Classics Club List that I am currently chomping at the bit to read. I am going to list them each four times . . .

1. Tropic of Cancer – Miller
2. Howards End – Forster
3. Angels and Insects – Byatt
4. 1984 – Orwel
5. The Bell Jar – Plath
6. Tropic of Cancer – Miller
7. Howards End – Forster
8. Angels and Insects – Byatt
9. 1984 – Orwell
10. The Bell Jar – Plath
11. Tropic of Cancer – Miller
12. Howards End – Forster
13. Angels and Insects – Byatt
14. 1984 – Orwell
15. The Bell Jar – Plath
16. Tropic of Cancer – Miller
17. Howards End – Forster
18. Angels and Insects – Byatt
19. 1984 – Orwell
20. The Bell Jar – Plath

. . . and see what number comes out on Monday August 19th!

You can say I’m stacking the deck. You can say I’m cheating. You can say I’m voiding the spirit of the Spin.
But I will only answer, “I know you are but what am I?! I know you are but what am I?! I know you are but what am I?!”
(If you have no idea what I’m talking about, watch Pee-wee’s Big Adventure (1985). It’s absolutely brilliant.)
8 comments

  1. Lady M

    I seriously should join the Classics Club . . . you make it sound so fun. I love. –By the way, the song “Tequilla” will forever be associated with Pee Wee’s Big Adventure.

    • jackiemania

      I do truly want to read everything on my Classics Club list, but I am so in the mood to read these five! 🙂 They will make sense for the first month of classes too — no need putting War and Peace on there when I’m so busy otherwise (I’d do that for a Decemberish spin because of the Winter Break).

  2. kravmarie

    Ha! I love this. I fully support your decision. There is simply not enough time to spend reading books that you Have habitually been avoiding (possibly because you don’t actually want to read them) when there are those you just can’t wait to read! Seize the day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

