State of the Bookworm Address – Late June!

DuncanGrant

Summertime, and the living is BUSY!

I wish I could tell you about my languorous days reclining in the summer heat, but it ain’t so, Joe. Rather, I am trying to cram as much reading, needlework, and gardening as possible into my break from schoolwork. Let me tell you about what I’m up to bookworm wise…

I’m leading the Wives and Daughters read-a-long this week! Great timing, because this is the week I fell deeply in love with the book. The previous chapters felt like set-up and a bit stilted, but now I’m screaming with laughter, clutching my heart, and am so sad when I need to stop reading for the week.

I’m reading Desolation Angels for The Beats of Summer. This book is harder to read than The Dharma Bums. Not only because of its experimental nature and structure, but because it’s so emotionally raw. I think it’s terrific, but I can’t read too much at one time before feeling too awash in the sadness of the world.

I’m reading Hamlet as my Classics Spin #2! I may not finish by July 1, but who cares! It will take the time it takes, because I love, love, love (love, love) this play so much! I remarked to my husband (and he laughed really hard at me) that I do not understand so many things in the world (like any and all math), but I understand Shakespeare perfectly! (OK, you laugh too.) What I mean by this is that all of his made up words, ingenious metaphors, and double entendres somehow speak to my brain to make the most wonderful light bulb moments of language and meaning! I literally have a smile on my face the entire time I’m reading (except when my hand is stapled to my forehead in despair!). Ah! I am so glad to be reading Hamlet right now!!!!

I just signed up for The Elegance of the Hedgehog Book Club hosted by Love at First Book and The Book Wheel. I was so charmed by the film that I immediately ordered the book on PaperBack Swap, only to have it sit on my TBR pile for months. I thought it would be fantastic to read it with others!

Finally,  August is for Austen! Wheeeeee!

Please, please, please don’t let me sign up for anything else! I’m going to be a worn out rag by the time school starts!

(That’s me reading in my library. KIDDING! That’s the incredibly evocative “Interior with the Artists Daughter” painted by Duncan Grant, Bloomsbury artist extraordinaire. I admire his paintings and home so much!)

5 comments

  1. Roof Beam Reader

    Oh, interesting re: Desolation Angels. That’s next up for me, for The Beats of Summer reading. Hmm. Now I’m wondering if it’s the one I should go with, since there’s only two weeks left. And, yes, WEEEEE for Austen in August!! 😀

  2. RebeccaScaglione - Love at First Book

    What? You’re not signing up for the other 1,000 challenges/read-a-longs/whatevers that are out there? Just kidding! I totally cut back on that stuff, too, so that I can try to support my fellow bloggers when they have events.

    My classics spin #2 is Don Quixote which I probably won’t even begin until July. . . but oh well! 🙂

  3. Melinda

    Enjoy your reading of Hamlet! I am also particpating in the book club of The Elegance of the Hedgehog, actually i’m reading 2 book club reads this month. Thank you for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

