Classics Club Discussion: Who is your favorite Brontë?

bronte_sisters

The Classics Club asks:

Who is your favorite Brontë, and why?

A few years ago, I would have piped up “CHARLOTTE!” without hesitation. Of course the author of Jane Eyre is my favorite. But now, it’s impossible to say. The more I learn about stubborn, homebody, animal loving Emily, the more I love her. I like gentle yet opinionated Anne too, through reading her book The Tenant of Wildfell Hall. I’m hoping I’ll be getting to know them all a little better over the next year. I have The Brontës Wild Genius on the Moors: The Story of a Literary Family sitting on my table to read very soon, and we are reading Agnes Grey by Anne over at Unputdownables in September 2013. Ask me again in October. I most likely will say that my additional reading has made me love each of them even more, but do ask.

P.S.  Want to go dude watchin’ with the Brontës?

P.P.S.  Oy vey with putting the e-umlaut when I write Brontë — and I’m always writing about the Brontës!

P.P.P. S. ë ë ë!!!

(Image of the Brontës painted by their brother Branwell. Spooky how he painted himself out. via wikipedia)

3 comments

  1. Leah

    Wuthering Heights is the only Bronte book I’ve read yet, but I can’t wait to read books by the other sisters! Hahaha that cartoon is wonderful 😛

  2. Wallace

    Mmmm, I saw the title of this and my guess for you was Charlotte… but don’t ask me why as I don’t have any concrete evidence that you have loved her more than Emily or Anne. I’d have to say that Emily is my favorite. Not only because Wuthering Heights became completely etched in my heart when we read it, but also because there is something so incredibly haunting about her as a person. Their stories are all tragic, but hers seems somehow more lonely and tragic (is that fair to say? probably not), and her incredible potential so completely ripped from her, that I am somehow drawn to her.

    That sounded more romantic than I meant it to… oh, I’m so melodramatic. Maybe I really just like her the most because of the Wuthering Heights music video you shared. 😉

Leave a Reply

