I’m guest-leading the Crime and Punishment Read-a-long this week!

 

Image

 

Just a quick post to let you know that I’m guest-leading the Crime and Punishment Read-a-long over at Unputdownables this week! Come visit 🙂

P.S. I DO Dostoevsky on the first date! Despite the fact that my now-husband asked me on our first date right after an American Literature Survey class, we Dostoevskied, Woolfed, Joyced AND I also threw up on him, but that’s another story for another day!

(awesome t-shirt from zazzle.com)

6 comments

  1. Melody @ Fingers & Prose

    Oh my goodness…and what day will that first-date story be told, pray tell?

    I need to hurry up and catch up with my Dostoevsky so I can go read your thoughts. I’ve been finding all kinds of great excuses for putting it off, even though I enjoyed last week’s segment quite a bit.

    • jackiemania

      He hee 🙂 The short version is that my cousin had been working at a bar at the time that made killer margaritas. I thought it would be a good idea to go there after the film we saw (Elvira, Mistress of the Dark!!! it was 1988!) because she would be able to give us free margaritas (and we were poor college students). Well, she sure did give us free margaritas! I was nervous and drank and drank and … yep. The fact that David was so nice about it, and called me the next morning to make sure I was feeling ok made me know what a good person he was. I then started telling all my friends to throw up on people they were interested in as a litmus test to see if they were worth getting serious about! I stand by this test — anyone reading — throw up on the person you like and see what happens!

  2. Marie

    This is funny! I had a first date last weekend and we started talking books. Apparently he’s not much of a fiction reader, but asked what I’m reading. I told him Crime and Punishment. I’m always a little shy about telling people i don’t know well about classics I’m reading or have read, because I feel like so many people who don’t read feel intimidated or for whatever reason defensive. It’s hard for some people to understand that someone might read a classic for the sake of reading it, rather than bragging rights.
    Luckily I don’t think he is that way, since we are still seeing each other. Secretly I do wish he read fiction, though! I’m such a book nerd, and none of my friends care much for books. It’s a lonely obsession! thank goodness for book blogs 😉

    • jackiemania

      Ah, so you Dostoevsky on the first date. too! 😉 I was lucky in that we were both English Majors and had many of the same classes, so we talked about books constantly. The hard part came when it was time to merge libraries! We had two copies of so many of the same books and had to negotiate which one to keep! We kept it fair and square when we turned them in to the used bookstore for credit and split it right down the middle 🙂

Leave a Reply

