Classics Club Group Check-In #2

The Classics Club asks us to:

…tell us what you’ve read, how you’re feeling about your progress, how much you love the classics or the community — any struggles, a favorite read so far. Really, whatever you feel like sharing!

I must say, things with my Classics Club reading are going swimmingly! I’ve been a member a little over seven months, have read nine titles on my list, and have three in progress! I’ve been making a dent in my list, yet still have time for books not on my list, and my schoolwork. Excellent!

I value the focus my Classics Club list gives my reading. I love knowing there are others that have recently read what I have read, and all that I have to do is check the review list to connect with them. “Hey! I’m a Classics Club member and I just read this too and…” is like a calling card, a not-so-secret handshake, the password to like minds all over the globe. That’s really special, and I’m grateful for it every day. Plus, you guys make it so fun! I’m still experiencing a thrill over the Classics Spin. It was so exciting to see everyone in a flurry about what the number was going to be.

My only challenge has been, ah, challenges! I just can’t seem to get the knack of them. I’m not sure if it’s the timing or the complexity of some, or what. I just know that they all sound fascinating but I never can seem to complete them in the time I’m supposed to, so I’ve taken a hiatus. I’m fine with read-a-longs — it’s the read X books about X in X amount of time type challenges that I’m abysmal at.

I’ve pasted my list below so that you can see what I’ve completed, and my thoughts on the book.

1. The Classic Fairy Tales – Tartar

2. Angels and Insects – Byatt

3. Babel Tower – Byatt Completed 9/16/12 Thoughts

4. Ragnarok – Byatt

5. Remembrance of Things Past: Swann’s Way – Proust

6. Don Quixote – Cervantes

7. David Copperfield – Dickens

8. Hard Times – Dickens Completed 12/20/12 Thoughts

9. Great Expectations – Dickens

10. The Plague – Camus

11. 1984 – Orwell

12. Crime and Punishment  – Dostoyevsky

13. The Brothers Karamazov – Dostoyevsky

14. The Professor – C. Brontë

15. Jane Eyre – C. Brontë

16. Villette – C. Brontë

17. Howl and Other Poems – Ginsberg

18. The Importance of Being Earnest – Wilde   Completed 8/19/12 Thoughts

19. Hamlet – Shakespeare

20. Macbeth – Shakespeare

21. King Lear – Shakespeare

22. Much Ado About Nothing – Shakespeare

23. The Tempest – Shakespeare

24. Twelfth Night – Shakespeare

25. As You Like It – Shakespeare

26. War and Peace – Tolstoy 

27. Wuthering Heights – E. Brontë Completed 10/25/12 Thoughts

28. The Virgin in the Garden – Byatt

29. The Bloody Chamber – Carter Completed 2/18/13 Thoughts

30. Tropic of Cancer – Miller

31. The Dharma Bums – Kerouac

32. The Bell Jar – Plath

33. Persuasion – Austen Completed 1/25/12 Thoughts

34. Northanger Abbey – Austen

35. Frankenstein – Shelley

36. Walden – Thoreau

37. Wives and Daughters – Gaskell

38. Huckleberry Finn – Twain

39.  The Hound of the Baskervilles – Doyle

40. Moby Dick – Melville

41. The Poisonwood Bible – Kingsolver

42. Mrs. Dalloway – Woolf

43. Orlando – Woolf

44. The Rainbow – Lawrence

45. Pale Fire – Nabokov

46. Howards End – Forster

47. A Christmas Carol – Dickens Completed 12/16/12 Thoughts

48. The Hobbit – Tolkien Completed 11/24/12 Thoughts

49. Agnes Grey – A. Brontë

50. Rebecca – Du Maurier Completed 12/1/12 Thoughts

Leave a Reply

