And My Classics Spin Title Is…

FRANKENSTEIN by Mary Shelley

The illustration from the 1831 edition is much different than the iconic Karloff Frankenstein’s Monster that we all know and love, yes?

and much, much different than my most vivid Frankensteinian association:

Despite the series originally airing from 1964 – 66, I saw them all in reruns when I was a child and Lily was one of my MAJOR I-wanna-look-like-that-when-I-grow-up style icons and it completely developed my skewed, black sense of humor (one of the perks of being raised by grandparents was that I grew up on old, good TV show reruns and 1940s movies) BUT I DIGRESS.

Frankenstein!

My dog-eared paperback says that I read this in college, but I remember very little of it. I was supposed to read it in October for the Gothic Challenge, but ran out of time after suffering with Udolpho. I am so pleased that I will be reading it for the Classics Spin! I just finished a book last night, so I will begin Frankenstein immediately.

Many thanks to The Classics Club for this fun, fun game of chance!

6 comments

  1. Melody @ Fingers & Prose

    Oh my. I do hope you have better luck with this one than I did. I read it at a time when I was feeling generally impatient, which turned out to be a poor mix. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on it. Maybe that will redeem my opinion. 🙂

  2. Alex in Leeds

    I remember being astonished the first time I read this that there was so much travel and philosophy in it. It’s a little dry in places but so astonishing for the era and so full of ideas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

