Forever – is composed of Nows –


51RClistbrL

Earlier today, when we were giving in our books collected for a local literacy initiative, my classmate donated Emily by Michael Bedard and Barbara Cooney (of Miss Rumphius fame!). She let me read it before she gave it to our teacher, and it’s very, very beautiful. When I got home,  a post by A Small Press Life reminded me it is Emily Dickinson’s birthday today. What a nice coincidence (it’s even snowing in my town, just like on the book cover). I know I just posted one of her poems, but here’s another.

Forever – is composed of Nows –
‘Tis not a different time –
Except for Infiniteness –
And Latitude of Home –

From this – experienced Here –
Remove the Dates – to These –
Let Months dissolve in further Months –
And Years – exhale in Years –

Without Debate – or Pause –
Or Celebrated Days –
No different Our Years would be –
From Anno Dominies –

Happy Birthday Emily. You are completely part of my Now. I love you!

3 comments

Leave a comment